Taubman College

Lecture Series / Frances and Gilbert P. Schafer Lectures

Frances and Gilbert P. Schafer Visiting Professionals Fund

The Frances and Gilbert P. Schafer Visiting Professionals Fund was established in 1986 to support visits to the College by outstanding design professionals. They could be invited to lecture, participate in seminars, workshops, design charrettes or other instructional activities. The goal is to recognize and promote excellence in the design and making of buildings. Gilbert Schafer, B.S. in Architecture 1922, was a distinguished architect in Cleveland, Ohio. His firm completed hundreds of buildings of all types.

Designers who have visited between 1988 and 2012 as part of this endowed program include: Steve Badanes, Michael Bell, Brad Cloepfil, Jean-Louise Cohen, Xaveer De Geyter, Tjeerd Dijkstra, Peter Eisenman, Daly Genik, Kathryn Dean, Ellen Dunham-Jones, Alexander Garvin, Walter Hood, Eric Howeler, Rem Koolhaas, Walter Kulash, Sylvia Lavin, Neil Leach, Clover Lee, Linda Loudermilk, Rick Lowe, Rodolfo Machado, John McAslan, Farshid Moussavi, Glenn Murcutt, Ben Nicholson, John Norquist, Gregg Pasquarelli, Michael Pyatok, Jesse Reiser, Stanley Saitowitz, Bridget Shim, Dan Solomon, Marcelo Spina, Yeohlee Teng, Camilo Jose Vegara, James van Sweden, George Wagner, June Williamson, and Meejin Yoon.


2013Michele Oka Doner